“Lush” and “for my boat lily” in text lit mag

Hi all,

I promise this will be my last update for a while! (…Well, probably.) I just want to let everyone know that I’m super happy to be included in the new issue of text lit mag, which features two of my short poems: “Lush” (the first piece in the issue!) and “for my boat lily.” You can link directly to issue 3 (March 2015) here.

In addition to being available online, text is distributed in free print editions at coffee shops in Nanaimo, BC, where they’re based. When I found out about this side of their initiative, I knew I had to send something in; as far as I’m concerned, what they’re doing is one of the best ways to engage readers with a wide range of interests, backgrounds, and amounts of time available to engage with contemporary writing at all (not just the small and relatively homogeneous group who specifically seek out literary journals and small press fairs). Moreover, at least in the first few issues, the editorial team has done a great job of reinforcing their distribution goals by including an eclectic variety of pieces that burst genre distinctions and even media distinctions–for example, by interspersing more traditionally “literary” poems and flash fiction with humorous and whimsical tweets. All in all, I’m excited about the magazine and what we can learn from the folks who run it, and I’m overjoyed to have been able to contribute something that fit with their mission and aesthetic. I hope you enjoy it, too!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

