London Open Mic Poetry update: interview, poems, and bio online

Hi everyone,

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about my upcoming feature reading at London Open Mic Poetry, which is happening next Wednesday, April 1 at 7:00 (doors at 6:30) at Mykonos restaurant near Adelaide and Central. Everything I wrote there is still true (especially the parts about my wanting to see you at the reading!), with two important additions:

First, I’ve recently learned that London Open Mic Poetry’s special National Poetry Month event will include two feature readers. This means that I’ll be reading alongside Penn Kemp! Kemp, if you’re not familiar with her, was London’s inaugural poet laureate, along with holding a slew of other honours and accolades I won’t even attempt to take full stock of here. Needless to say, I’m quite humbled (and a little petrified) to be featuring with her, but I’m looking forward to both of us stirring up some excitement.

Second, my interview with London Open Mic Poetry co-organizer Kevin Heslop (himself a thoughtful and imaginative poet) has just been posted online! The interview appears along with my bio and four poems I’ve previously published in other venues, and you can read it here. I should point out that among all the things I really love about London Open Mic Poetry, Kevin’s interviews (which he conducts with every month’s featured reader) are some of the most impressive. For this month’s he definitely hit me with some thought-provoking questions, and I can’t help but feel like my answers are some of the best things I’ve ever managed to say about poetry. If you’re curious about my thoughts on linearity, ambiguity, formalism, the speaking “I,” or the connection between language and technology, you should check it out.

If you didn’t already have enough reason to come out on the 1st, I’ll also be making a special announcement during my set. But that’s all I can say for now. I hope to see you there!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

