What You Didn’t Know Existed wrap-up and Livewords reminder

Hi-ho everyone,

Not too much to say today, but I do have some important things to run through.

First of all, I want to take some time to congratulate everyone who contributed to the Toronto Street Writers’ end-of-program celebration and launch of our newest zine, What We Didn’t Know Existed, July 1st at the Academy of the Impossible. It was an incredible event: great food, great planning, great turnout, great poets, and perhaps most of all great performances–I was especially impressed by the readers’ sincerity and enthusiasm, which is definitely more of a rarity in today’s poetry world than it should be! For my own part, I had a lot of fun up on stage and in the audience. The event definitely gives me high hopes for the program and the Academy!

Second, I want to post a quick reminder about the July edition of Livewords, which is happening TOMORROW at 8:00pm (doors at 7:30) at the Black Swan near Broadview station. While Livewords is absolutely wonderful every month, this month’s is extra-special because I (yes, me!) will be joining regular organizer Ed Nixon to co-host the event and organize the open mic (which you should read at, by the way). I also helped ‘curate’ this month’s lineup of poets–Jim Johnstone, Jeramy Dodds, and Ian Williams–so you know they’ll be performing some great stuff. I hope to see you there!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

