Chrysalis Zine, Chrysalis Zine launch, and Chrysalis Blog!

Howdy everyone,

First off, a very quick thanks to everyone who joined me at the Underdog Poets Academy Sunday night! It was a great reading for sure: Adam Abbas and Lisa Young presented some great poetry, I thoroughly enjoyed the summer heat haiku competition, and I think my set went at least alright. Even though my stint as a feature reader there is done, I’ll be looking forward to the next installation in August.

Recently, I’ve been involved in a new zine being put together by my friend and fellow poet Kimberley Dawkins, Chrysalis, whose first issue (on the theme of “process”) is being launched in the next few weeks. Some of my poetry will be printed in the issue, and I’m excited to say that I’ve been invited to read at the launch party! The event will be held on Thursday, August 9 at Tequila Bookworm (I’ve never been there, so I can’t tell you anything about the venue), and hot-off-the-presses copies of the zine will be available. If you’re planning to come (I hope you do!), keep in mind that the launch will have a cover charge, which will also get you a copy of the publication.

As if that wasn’t enough…I also have work featured on the Chrysalis Blog, right now! A while ago, I was asked to work on a review of The Encampment, an art installation at Toronto’s Fort York that was up in June. It just so happens that the project has become one of the first entries on the accompanying blog for Chrysalis Zine, which will probably be featuring more reviews, writings, and all kinds of other things soon. The piece is some kind of attempt at combining a traditional journalistic review with non-fictional art commentary and creative experiential writing. I’m not sure if or how it works, but you might enjoy it all the same. You can check it out here.

That’s all for now. Hope to see you on the 9th!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Chrysalis Zine, Chrysalis Zine launch, and Chrysalis Blog!

  1. John Nyman says:

    There is now a facebook event page for the Chrysalis launch: http://www.facebook.com/events/410028392367490/

Leave a Reply

